Solar cell heatsink thermal modelling

Hello All,

I am hoping you can help me with some heat transfer modelling I am trying to do. I am new to FEA and have no background in it unfortunately, but have spent the last two days trying to learn and do some modelling. What I am trying to do is model the temperature of a solar cell under concentrated light depending what size heatsink is used. I drew up a model in FreeCAD which consists of a very thin solar cell (0.017 x 10 x10 mm ), a 0.125mm thick solder and then a 50x50mm copper plate. I have successfully got this into Prepomax and meshed it etc…
I then added the material properties to each layer and set up contact pairs. I started with a surface flux of 136.6 mW/mm2 (1000X concentration) and set the copper plate as a convective film. However, when running a simulation it doesn’t appear to take into account the copper and solder (these stay at 25 C, whilst the solar cell gets hot). I can’t figure out how to model the heat transfer between each layer.
I have attached an image of the results in the hope someone can have a look and help me out.

Thank you

Dave

Try using tie constraint instead of contact. If it doesn’t help then there might be a mistake in your setup and it would be best if you could share the .pmx file.

Good morning, thank you for your quick response. I did try to upload the .pmx file but it sais that “new users cannot upload a file”

You could share it using some hosting website like Google Drive, Dropbox or WeTransfer. Just paste the link here.

Ahh yes, good idea. link attached :slight_smile:

The distribution will be much better if you replace contact with tie constraints: