How to treat a body as rigid?

Hey everyone,

I’m new to ProPoMax and was wondering if there is a way to treat a body of an assembly as rigid (aka not compute stress/strain for these selected bodies)?

I want to analyze the stress in a body that is constrained to a mechanism. For example, a crank slider. If I wanted to do an FEA of the connecting rod but not of the crank or the slider.

I understand that I can be clever with my boundary conditions along with using remote loads, but in my case it would be significantly easier if I could treat the components of the constraining mechanism as rigid bodies.

This would be the same as in Solidworks FEA when you right click a body and select “make Rigid” as opposed to “deformable”. This would save some computing time also.

More on the Solidworks feature:

https://help.solidworks.com/2020/english/SolidWorks/cworks/c_Treat_a_Body_as_Rigid.htm

Thanks for your help it is greatly appreciated!

1 Like

Sure, you can use the rigid body constraint for that. Just create a reference point in a desired location, then select it for this constraint and specify the region to be treated as rigid. This constraint can be also used to transfer loads (like torque or remote force) to faces.

1 Like

it seems PrePoMax is not yet completed and needed to add select Element-Set at Region type in menus, currently only possible to assign at node set. However, the solver CalculiX is capable to assign *Rigid body to element set also.

add these input using Edit CalculiX Keywords feature (mutually exclusive i,e node set previously is not defined)

Actually, the *RIGID BODY, ELSET=... definition is equivalent to *RIGID BODY, NSET=... if you select the whole part since internally, only nodes of the elements belonging to the elset, not the elements themselves are used.

1 Like

This is a commonly used/requested feature.

Would it be easy to incorporate this functionality as part of the graphical selection interface, instead of using keywords ?