Help to start coding new features in PrePoMax

Hi everyone.

Aiming to improve my coding skills while also helping this amazing software, I plan to implement one of the “simple” feature requests to understand better how the software works internally before moving on to harder tasks.

With this in mind, I decided that feature request 39 regarding *COUPLING support would be a nice place to start.

Since it will be a similar constraint to *RIGID BODY, I would like to know how the latter works internally - which functions are called, where they are stored, where they gather data to work in… - to base the new *COUPLING feature.

I managed to compile PrePoMax from the upstream code with success, but I have no idea how to use Visual Studio to achieve this goal. I suppose there is some tool to see which functions are called when I use the compiled .exe (maybe it is the “call stack”, but for me, it appears empty).

I would like to ask for help in this regard! I’m an inexperienced programmer right now but hopefully, in the future, this will change.

Best regards,
Lucas

1 Like

It’s been a while so I would like to ask again for help in this regard!

Is there a way to see which functions are being called when a specific action is done to understand the code better?

I really appreciate any help you can provide.

Sorry for the late replay. I will try to explain it shortly.

since coupling type distributing is applicable for force type only, maybe is more convenient when these features are placed in properties menu by options. Expected user to switch from rigid body to coupling, for example “Coupling type Distributing” and “Yes/No”

2024-04-06 03_40_15-Create Load

2024-04-06 03_41_10-Create Load

btw, i’m also interested in exporting code workflow since look less complicated for me. Importing another file format also, but it could be more complex in displaying object in graphics after completed.