Alternatives to 1D Beam and Truss elements

Hello everyone, I’m new to PrePoMax and to this forum, sorry in advance if I am not posting in the right place. I’m currently working on a custom scaffold composed primarly by beam elements, and would love to use open source software for its structural design. However, PrePoMax currently does not have this implemented, even though Calculix does. I read in this thread that this is one of the next things the design team is going to implementate, and i’m really excited to it.

However, I would like to know if you guys have some idea on how can I model and use 1D beam elements using open source software ? I thought on using FreeCAD an its native Calculix processor, but I would like to know if there is any other softwares (or maybe PrePoMax with some input file modification).

Thanks! Greeting from Brazil.

1 Like

FreeCAD supports CalculiX’s beam elements but be very careful when using them (regardless of the preprocessor). Beams in CalculiX are prone to errors. In most cases, it’s enough to just refine the mesh significantly or change the type of beam element but there might be also errors that can’t be solved this way. At least with general sections (user beam element).

Hello FEAnalyst, are you the owner from the Youtube channel with the same name? It’s a pleasure to talk with you.

Why do you say so? Their formulation has errors? When you say general sections, do you mean user defined section or pre-implemented sections (rectangular, circular, pipe…)?

I will be careful whenever using them. Thanks for the advice!

Yes, I prepare YouTube tutorials for PrePoMax.

What I mean is a type of beam section that has no predefined shape but is defined using section properties. Here’s the bug that still hasn’t been fixed:

Apart from that, there are some problems with accuracy, especially when plasticity is involved. But in such cases it’s enough to just refine the mesh significantly or use a different type of beam element:

1 Like