PrePoMax for commercial use

Hello there,

I’m a mechanical engineer in the field of heavy machinery. I’m considering my options with the open source community, to implement more FEA work into the design work. I’ve been tinkering with a few different software. I’ve grown fond of Salome-Meca for meshing, and Paraview seems powerful (although not too user friendly), but find code_aster to be too complicated for me to actually be productive with my time.

I’m very impressed with PrePoMax so far - what a wonderful GUI, and wonderful implementation of Calculix. I’m wondering if anyone is using it for commercial work, or if its mainly being used for academic/learning purposes.

Much love.

It all depends on what you want to analyze but PrePoMax and CalculiX can be suitable for many scenarios, including the analyses performed in industry. Since PrePoMax is just a pre- and postprocessor, its capabilities depend on what CalculiX has to offer (ccx features not yet implemented in ppm can always be added using keywords). So I would suggest you to ask on the CalculiX forum - some users may share their experience with industrial applications: https://calculix.discourse.group/

Code_Aster with Salome_Meca is powerful but for me and many others users it’s no go due to extremely low user-friendliness. CalculiX is pretty much the best choice for general FEA cases (unless you need some specific multiphysics capabilities - then Elmer might be needed). Check this thread on the CalculiX forum: Where to start with open source FEA - CalculiX

2 Likes

Very good point - of course the limitations lie in CalculiX. Im asking more to get a sense of the “community” around PrePoMax, and to understand the vision for the project.

Overall im very impressed with it so far. Im going through your tutorials on youtube currently. I wonder a few things:

How comfortable is it to work on larger assemblies? Say, in the spectrum of 20 to 100 parts?
What are good learning materials for Prepomax/Calculix?