Warp3D support in Prepomax

I’m a FEA analyst and a long-time Abaqus user, mainly focusing on failure analyses. By following the development of Calculix, I recently discovered what great work has been done with PrePoMax.

The reason I’m still using Abaqus is the lack of fracture mechanics features in Calculix. However, there is a great open source fracture mechanics focused FE solver called Warp3D (http://www.warp3d.net), but with no pre or post-processor. It has a similar input based syntax as Abaqus and the results are output as binary or text-based formats. It has a different material model library and more specialized features related to failure modelling of metals than Calculix (such as J-integrals).

Currently I have built my own adhoc Python scripts to convert Abaqus-style meshes to match the Warp3D syntax and added the loads etc. manually to the input. Then I have a second script that converts the Warp3D output stress and strain files to the frd-format readable by PrePoMax.

My feature request is to make PrePoMax support Warp3D. The capability to export meshes and sets or whole models in the Warp3D format and the capability to read in the Warp3D output files (text or binary) would help a lot! Having the solver integrated in the PrePoMax GUI might be asking too much.

As an example of the file formats, attached is a test model of an uniaxial bar with results both in Warp3D format and .frd format.

bar.zip (160.8 KB)

Have you heard about the newly introduced fracture mechanics capabilities in CalculiX ? The 2.19 version brought HCF crack propagation procedure (*HCF) and, from what I remeber (unfortunately older release notes are replaced with new ones), the 2.18 version brought support for LCF analyses (*CRACK PROPAGATION). I haven’t tested these functionalities yet but they seem interesting.