Security question

Hi,

I hope the question is interpreted correctly and can be seen as an opportunity to provide transparency and strengthen the use of Prepomax.
As any user of free software with little programming knowledge I have some concerns about the security risks of using this kind of software.

I would like to ask if Prepomax has some kind of “Safe” certificate from an external certification entity?
In case not, do you think it would be worth to get one?

On your Gitlab website it states that "The program records all user actions in order to be able to repeat them later ".

Does Prepomax include some kind of Keylogger or method of recording user activity and to what extent?

Once again, thanks for this great tool.

1 Like

I’m also not a software engineer but, apart from maybe signing the binary for new releases so that it never displays as unknown on Windows (not an issue for me, even FreeCAD sometimes has it), I don’t see the need for certifications. Since it’s open-source, you can see everything what the software does internally and you don’t have to worry about malicious code. I would be way more worried about what Windows does with our data.

Also, PrePoMax doesn’t even connect with the internet and the only interaction with the web is when you use Help —> Home Page. Then it just opens a page in your default browser and that’s it.

Actions (operations in GUI, not individual key presses) are indeed recorded (for backup, of course) and only stored locally in a file that can be even opened in GUI in the newest version. They aren’t sent to cloud or anything. So, unless your Windows is hacked and someone has access to all your files anyway, it’s totally safe.

P.S. Back to FreeCAD as it’s a very mature and large open-source code of a similar kind. The only concerns about security/certification they had (from what I recall and from what I’ve found) were regarding tools using web connection and stuff like publishing this software in Apple/Microsoft Store.