Gravity load shows excessive results

I am an FEA noob in training so I apologize in advance if this is user error (probably is), but I am pulling my hair out. I have an alu 6061 solid frame that I simulated under two loading conditions separately: point load and acceleration (gravity) load. I ran the simulations using Inventor 2019 stress analysis and PrePoMax v2.0.0. The point load scenario shows similar displacements/stresses, but the gravity loading in PPM shows crazy results. See the attached pictures.

Some considerations/ observations:

1. Due to lack of experience, I probably messed up the setup (GIGO). For example, the mesh does not look quite right in both programs.
  2. I double checked the units.
  3. For both results of the point load, the frame does not deflect as I would expect. I thought the frame would deflect like a cantilever beam, where the face of the free end would rotate with respect to the moment about the fixed end.
  4. I did a quick search in the forum but could not find a remedy. Please point me to the right thread if I missed it.

Thanks in advance for your input and patience.

Apart from the input units, check the dimensions of the geometry imported to PrePoMax. Especially since you are using imperial units. It’s hard to say more without seeing the model or at least (if you can’t share the files) some screenshots with boundary condition and load symbols to know how they were applied.

I tried uploading the PPM file, but I can’t because I am a new to the forum and this is my first thread/post. So currently I can only post pictures and one at a time. :frowning:

I checked the geometry using the query tool and dimensions are correct. I did have to scale down the model after import, but I did so prior to setting up the simulation.

I took some screenshots (attached) of the boundary condition and load. The only BC I have is a fixed constraint at the base. Gravity is 15 g’s in the x direction.