Tension and compresion

Hello everyone. Please forgive me because I’m just learning and this forum is full of great news. I don’t speak English and I use Google Translator, so please forgive the translation. Is it possible to model the analysis in ppm so that there is a different yield stress for tension and a different yield stress for compression? If possible, how to do it? Thank you for all the answers and help. You are cool

Do you want to model concrete or something like that ? The capabilities of CalculiX in this regard are quite limited but maybe you could use a Drucker-Prager model, for example. It’s not normally available but it’s provided as an example of a umat.f subroutine in the CalculiX User’s Manual. You can also check the discussions about the MFront library on the CalculiX forum.

Maybe, it can be started by material law with the simplest ones named Compression_Only in CalculiX. Then extended to plasticity with Modified-MC (UMat) or Drucker Prager Cap (Mfront) material laws. All of these material type have tension cut-off or limited.

Thanks for all the replies and help. The problem is that I don’t know calculix. I thought maybe some of you had already done something like this and could share an example.

as a started, an example of reinforced concrete model by compression_only material can be found in CalculiX documentation or mirror links here.

Hello, I am sending you the file in which I used “COMPRESSION_ONLY” (this is a wall arch), can you check if everything is OK?
LUK1.pmx (4.5 MB)

You have:

*Material, Name=COMPRESSION_ONLY
*USER MATERIAL, CONSTANTS=2
600, 0.1
*Density
1.84E-09

Looks good if Young’s modulus is 600 MPa in this case.

Looking a model of stone arch structures, i’m not really sure if it can be simplified and treated as homogen material at whole part. Shear and slip between block being ignored, for masonry type wall it can not be.