Strange results for the 2D plane stress

Hello Community,
(I apologise for the bad English; I am using a translator).
I am a civil engineer, of a certain age, in Italy (freelancer) very fond of advanced FEM modelling. I must say that there was a real need for a pre and post processor for Calculix, and for this goes all my admiration for the creator of Prepomax. Thanks for the work done will never be enough. Acknowledgements that should certainly also be extended to the disseminators who patiently produce excellent tutorials. In this regard, I followed with interest those made available by user “FEAnalyst” on youtube. In particular, I have also tried to replicate (using his geometric file made available) the example in Tutorial 16, it is the study of an object subjected to a plane state of tension and the modelling is done with shell-section elements. This is where something started to confuse me as I was expecting that for S33, S13 and S23 the value of the stresses would be zero while the results give me non-negligible values when compared to S11, S22 and S12. Where did I miss out? S33, S13 and S23 are null only if I assign the poisson coefficient the value zero. Furthermore, out-of-plane displacements (U3) are also not zero, it’s very strange.

Thank you for your attention

Thanks, I’m glad that you like my tutorials. Unfortunately, CalculiX doesn’t have true 1D and 2D elements - they are always expanded to 3D elements internally and that’s why such effects occur: Discrepancy in Element Stiffness Matrix Output using Substructure Approach - #29 by vicmw - CalculiX (official versions are on www.calculix.de, the official GitHub repository is at https://github.com/Dhondtguido/CalculiX).

So you can only ignore them or play with material properties, as you’ve mentioned.