Compliant Mechanisms simulation Help

Hi,Bros,I want to simulate a compliant Mechanisms part using a dynamic step with ABS material in Explicit mode, and the results seem okay. My question is regarding this kind of simulation, what should I pay attention to? What are the differences between using Explicit and Implicit methods? And should I consider more about the material settings and etc…?

the mold
concept1123-2.zip (17.6 KB)

Check my recent tutorial about explicit dynamics: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-X0Shj7UXE0

Incrementation settings are crucial, I discussed them all in the video.

1 Like

Thanks as always! bro

Very interesting analysis, @hua.

May I ask, why it is needed to run an explicit analysis for flexures simulations? A simple static analysis with non-linear behavior is not enough? Also, are you using which approach of design? I studied a little bit of FACT theory from Jonathan B. Hopkins and more recently the book by Larry Howell about compliant mechanisms. I look forward to using some of these theories in the future for something practical :smiley:

Hi,@ lucas_bueno

Actually, I’m not very proficient in simulation theory. The real appeal of a compliant mechanisms to me is that it allows for micrometer-level controllable displacement using rough 3D printed parts.Currently, I just need a simulation software that can accurately simulate the performance of flexures. I have tested explicit, implicit, and nonlinear static analyses under the same boundary conditions, and the results vary greatly. I am also trying to compare the actual printed parts with the simulation results. So, do you have any idea on this? :face_with_peeking_eye: