Contact analyses

Hi :slight_smile:
First of all, I would like to say that I am new to the field of FEA. I am not an engineer, but only a CNC programmer who wants to deal with FEA privately. I bitter therefore for some indulgence if I do not understand something directly.

I have in my attempts again and again objects where contacts occur. All the videos I found about PrePoMax (and also those I found about Abaqus where the contacts are defined similarly) use the type “hard”. But I am not sure if “hard” is the right way 99% of the time. Therefore I wanted to ask if someone can explain to me when I use which type. So for “hard”, “linear”, “exponential”, “tabular” and “tied”. In my books which I have read on the subject of FEA is only minimally addressed to contacts so I’m not sure when I have to use which type.
A second question is where do I get the data needed for the other types except “hard”? I have no way to test or measure anything myself.

I would be very happy if one would help me as a total beginner here :innocent:

You should check the CalculiX (and maybe also Abaqus due to the similarity) documentation first. Those contact types are described there. But there aren’t many general tips (you can find some here and on the CalculiX forum though) since the choice is highly case-dependent and usually requires some testing for a particular model. When changing contact stiffness you should check the results like contact pressure and penetrations.

One of the helpful threads on the CalculiX forum: Contact stiffness setting - CalculiX (official versions are on www.calculix.de, the official GitHub repository is at https://github.com/Dhondtguido/CalculiX).