Combining wood with concrete

Hello everyone. I am a beginner in mesh analysis. I would like to model a wooden beam on which there is a concrete slab connected to this beam using metal connectors. Can this be done in Prepomax?

it seems to be possible by compound part features of PrePoMax when cohesive zone of slip resistant between shear connector (steel) and wood or concrete being ignores. Adjacent nodes become continue in mesh, but separation also available to be use in contact or constraint.

there’s work around about these limitations using tied contact type parameter adjustment, but still need to validated and benchmarked before applying in model.

It depends on whether you want to include the connectors or ignore them in a simplified model. There are different levels of approximation that you can use in an analysis. From just putting one part on top of the other and applying tie constraint, to modeling all the connections in detail.

Look for some research papers on this topic, like “Structural response of timber-concrete composite beams predicted by finite element models and manual calculations” by N. Khorsandnia et al.

Indeed, spring connection models are common used for 1D beam and 2D plate element. In case of solid element, each of the part interactions are play important role.

below my example of reinforced concrete beams using solid compound feature of PrePoMax, modeling approach can be generalized to be use in composite section and material also.

2018-09-04 03_40_51-

2018-09-04 03_29_43-

Could you send an example so I can study it. Please and thank you in advance

hi, what’s your software previously used and analysis model successful reported? any documentation, so i can be doing comparison to PrePoMax workflow and CalculiX.solver capabilities.